Follow by Email

Tuesday, May 01, 2007

Cricket Australia contracts

Cricket Australia has released its list of contracted players for the next 12 months.

They are:

Cullen Bailey SA 22
Nathan Bracken NSW29
Stuart Clark NSW 31
Michael Clarke NSW 26
Daniel Cullen SA 23
Adam Gilchrist WA 35
Jason Gillespie SA32
Brad Haddin NSW29
Matthew Hayden QLD35
Ben Hilfenhaus TAS 24
Brad Hodge VIC 32
Brad Hogg WA 36
James Hopes QLD28
Michael Hussey WA 31
Phil Jaques NSW 27
Mitchell Johnson QLD25
Brett Lee NSW 30
Stuart MacGill NSW 36
Ricky Ponting TAS 32
Chris Rogers WA 29
Andrew Symonds QLD 31
Shaun Tait SA24
Adam Voges WA 27
Shane Watson QLD 25
Cameron White VIC23

Without Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath and Justin Langer the list looks a bit thin. Yet nobody is irreplaceable: there's unlikely to be another Warne but the test team should be able to be rebuilt around the known strengths.

From a parochial standpoint I was pleased to see the four South Australians given contracts, even though Jason Gillespie, an account of his advancing years (but not, as season 2006 -2007 showed, declining ability) and Dan Cullen (because an unproductive last season) can consider themselves fortunate.

Post a Comment